Prof. Uwe Wolfrum : Molecular Cellbiology

Research topics:

The over all goal of the research in the Wolfrum lab is elucidating the function of vertebrate sensory cell function. Our studies are aimed to understand the basic cellular mechanisms by which cytoskeletal molecules and protein complexes contribute to the function and viability of sensory cells. In our research, we focus on ciliated sensory cells: olfactory cells in the nose, hair cells in the inner ear, but predominantly on photoreceptor cells in the retina. The results of these approaches allow us to elucidate mechanisms of retinal degeneration and evaluate gene therapeutic strategies.

In our projects, we combine molecular biology with protein biochemistry and cell biology to study sensory cell functions. A main expertise of the lab is high resolution immunocytochemistry by light/fluorescence microscopy, confocal microscopy and electron microscopy, which we use as major analytical tools for our approaches.

 

Group members:
Name Email Tel. Fax Room

Group Leader

Wolfrum, Uwe wolfrum@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-25148 Fax: 39-23815 00-327 (Sprechzeiten: Do 13.00-14.00 oder nach Vereinbarung)

Secretariat

Clermont-Wocker, Liliane clermont@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-23934 Fax: 39-23815 00-327 (Öffnungszeiten: Mo-Do 11.30-15.30, Fr 11.00 - 14.30)

Scientists

Krzysko, Jacek jkrzysko@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-23574 Fax: 39-23815 U1-252
Kusuluri, Deva Krupakar dkusulur@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-22880 Fax: 39-23815 01-519
Nagel-Wolfrum, Kerstin nagelwol@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-20131 Fax: 39-23815 00-347
Samanta, Ananya samanta@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-23574 Fax: 39-23815 01-519
Yildirim, Adem yildadem@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-23575 Fax: 39-23815 01-521
Wunderlich, Kirsten wunderlk@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-20131 Fax: 39-23815 00-347
Tebbe, Lars tebbe@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-24484 Fax: 39-23815 00-351

Staff

Clermont-Wocker, Liliane clermont@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-23934 Fax: 39-23815 00-327 (Öffnungszeiten: Mo-Do 11.30-15.30, Fr 11.00 - 14.30)
Gottlöber, Petra gottpe01@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-25607 Fax: 39-23815 Geb. 1326
Maas, Ulrike umaas@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-24484 Fax: 39-23815 00-351
Sehn, Elisabeth sehn@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-22189 Fax: 39-23815 U1-214
Stern-Schneider, Gabriele sternsch@uni-mainz.de  Tel: 39-22189 Fax: 39-23815 U1-214